Thankful Thursday #4

Good Mews exists to find good homes for our kitties but once a Good Mews kitty, always a Good Mews kitty.  So, we are so thankful when our adopters let us know how our cats are doing.  Recently we got a particularly heartwarming email.

 

 

I want to thank everyone at Good Mews for all the hard work you do.  Because of your dedication I was able to adopt two beautiful cats who have been a perfect fit for my family.  A few months ago I adopted Misfit (now Asher) and Dooley, brothers.  I wish you could see them both today!

Asher is very independent, but also the biggest cuddle bug!  Every night when my girls have gone to bed he comes down and demands a tummy rub and cuddling time; he loves being held like a little baby.  He is wonderful with my young girls (ages 2 and 4) and my oldest is thrilled that he now allows her to pet him!  We all knew he would do well in a home and he has proven to be a wonderful boy to have around and exactly what I was looking for in a first cat.  No surprises here!  Asher is a wonderful cat!

And then there is Dooley!  If you remember him he was always hiding in the tallest nook of a cat tower at Good Mews. And if you were there when I came to pick him up, the tower had to be taken a part, literally, just to get him out in an attempt to crate him.  A chase ensued and blood was drawn, but I got him home!  This was one terrified cat.  The first several weeks he hid in his safe room and ran whenever I came in the room.  He was always hiding under my bed and it took a long while, but he finally let me come close enough to pet him for brief moments.  I am happy to say that he is now a loving and very loyal boy!  I never thought I’d see the day, but he follows me everywhere, all day.  Wherever I am, there he is!  He is not a cuddler and does not like to be held (yet!), but he is always by my side and also lets my oldest close enough to pet him briefly.  I actually see more of Dooley than I do of Asher.  He has definitely surprised me and I am thrilled to have him!

These boys have been wonderful companions and could not be a better fit.  They have a great time together with several games of chase a day and quiet moments when they cuddle and groom each other.

Some of you know that my husband recently passed away and I needed companionship.  We have found joy with these boys and when my girls go to sleep at night, I have the company that I so desperately need.  They have, in a sense, rescued me.  I thank you and feel very blessed that they have joined our family.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

